Movement

One thing that 2012 has certainly brought is change. To mark one of many changes, Aaron and I moved out of Philadelphia to the Pennsylvania countryside about two months ago. We’re really embracing our new life in the country which includes plenty of wildlife (both in and out of the house), a wood burning stove (which is great because I love to set things on fire) and a new addiction to the pumpkin whoopi pies that the woman at the farmers market makes. (Seriously, they are only a dollar a piece and they are unreal!) The most important gain I’ve found in coming here is the time and enthusiasm to paint. Here in the calmness, down our mile-long gravel road, I’m far more inspired than I was in the city. My vision is only clear when I can step away and exist in my own being, if that makes sense, and I can do that now. So here I am. And I can see again. And I’m so thankful for it.  With that in mind, my new body of work is a marked evolution of my past obsession with power. This movement forward, however, looks to the power within. Above is a picture of me in the studio with a glimpse new painting in progress.

Leave a comment

Filed under Paint

Leave a comment